On March 13, both Utah and Arkansas passed legislation to ban abortion after 18-weeks gestation. In Arkansas, where abortion is already banned after 20 weeks, the House of Representatives voted 86-1 in support of the bill that will ban abortion after 18-weeks, with exceptions for rape, incest, and medical emergencies. Arkansas Govenor Asa Hutchinson signed the bill later the same week, and it will take effect 90 days after the legislature adjourns in May.
A nearly indentical bill passed in the Utah House of Representatives; the bill bans abortion after 18-weeks, with exceptions for rape, incest, life endangerment of the mother, and fatal fetal anomalies. Utah Govenor Gary Herbert has not yet confirmed that he will sign the bill.
American Civil Liberties Union affiliates in both states plan to challenge these bans in court.
Demillo, A. (14 March 2019). Time. Arkansas and Utah Lawmakers Have Passed Legislation Banning 18-Week Abortions
Guttmacher. (1 March 2019). State Bans on Abortion Throughout Pregnanc
ACLU of Utah. (13 March 2019). Press Release: ACLU of Utah Says Lawsuit is Inevitable if 18-Week Abortion Ban is Signed into Law
ACLU. (13 March 2019). ACLU of Arkansas Statement on Passage of Extreme 18-Week Abortion Ban